Hi, My name is Allison and I’m a Secular Homeschooler. Is there anybody out there?

025

Hello, everyone. My name is Allison. I am a secular homeschooler and couldn’t feel more alone. In my search for curricula, to my search for homeschool groups, I feel as if us secular Mama’s are few and far between. I’ve read books. I’ve scoured the internet, but I still feel alone. My only foundation seems to be my family and my lovely, homeschool warrior, Joan at The Back Pack, who understands my struggle. She listens and laughs and actually feels like a friend. I found her website in a search on the internet and I feel like she’s the island in this ocean of uncertainty that I was searching for. So, parched and hungry for knowledge, I climbed onto her island and listened to her journey in secular homeschooling. Who knew it was so different? Who knew we were so few? It’s not that I don’t think there’s a place for Christ in our home. It’s just that I don’t feel there’s a place for religion in our homeschool.

That being said, I am waiting anxiously for my books to arrive. Joan has been more than patient on me and the IRS. (My tax return being paramount in this undertaking)

Can one find a homeschool group that isn’t judgemental? I judge not, lest I still feel judged. Can one find a few homeschool friends that don’t think that the fact that we don’t have a memory verse everyday is a complete blasphemy? We do have character verse or quotes every week. This week was a Japanese Proverb that stated, “Fall down seven times, Stand up eight.” I thought this was a great proverb for my children to learn. Especially, Doodle 2 with his experience with bullies.

So, my point of this blog post today isn’t to plug The Back Pack. (I still am no way affiliated with them, I just happen to love the way they conduct business and the way they’ve fought for homeschooler’s, whether secular or otherwise) My point is to ask the question of why. Why can’t, we as homeschool Mama’s and Dad’s, unite as one team? Why can we not go on the same field trips or visit the same parks together? I am not anti-religion, in any way shape or form. But, I’m feeling as if the local homeschool groups feel as if I am. If I don’t incorporate Christ in my everyday lessons, I am an outcast. If I do, I am one of them. Accepted in the natural flow of what is homeschool.

The biggest part of my choice to homeschool was the safety and well being of my Doodles. Isn’t that why we all decided to take this hard, treacherous, unknown path? Isn’t that why we all decided that public school wasn’t the right place?

I was brought up to love my neighbor. To do unto others as they have done to me. Why in this journey, am I finding resistance in the very place that I thought I’d feel comfort. I am not an outsider. I am not an Anti-Christian. In fact, this journey has brought me closer to God, in many ways and now I wonder why. I’m not wrong, but, as I stated before, who am I to judge? I’m not. But is anyone else, either?

11 thoughts on “Hi, My name is Allison and I’m a Secular Homeschooler. Is there anybody out there?

  1. Please come join our large and varied and very supportive tribe over at SecularHomeschool.com. It’s not quite an exact substitute for a local secular support group but it can be quite the balm in the absence of such. We’d love to have you!!

    Like

  2. Secular or not. We are all homeschool warriors. Your posts are great and I love how you think. I am part of a few homeschool groups on Facebook and to be honest most those who I have made friends with are Secular. I chose bible in our own way because my bugga desires to know, no religion just bible study. I believe religion to be a church chosen base like catholic or Mormon, I am just pure Christian by heart. I really get the Secular view and I applaud you for it. I was raised in a religion private school and home it was stuffed down my throat, I became a mom and decided my children will know who God is but the path they take is for them to make not me, so I do not force it πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY!!! Thank you for that. I started the blog as more of a journal, but now I’ve found some real blog buddies who appreciated my honesty and that I read and know that I’m not alone! Welcome to, I’m Mama, but I’m still me. I hope you enjoy the journey and I’m hoping to learn some things from you, as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Andy says:

    This is so refreshing. I’m about to embark on our homeschooling journey and I’d be lying if I told you I wasn’t completely terrified. My little is 5 and very adamant that we get on with it as her friends start school officially next week. I have no idea what I’m going to do with the other two littles that spend a good part of the day fighting to be in my lap, let alone how kindergarten at home will look like. I am feeling lonely on this secular homeschooling journey (which I haven’t officially started yet) trying to find websites and resources. I’m so thankful I found your blog and there seem to be some good resources listed here that I look forward to checking out. I am also looking forward to navigating through your blog. I love your honesty! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Andy!

      I sincerely apologize for replying so, so late. It was not my intention. When I saw your comment, I should’ve responded immediately. I saw, liked and gave myself a mental note to respond when I had time. Time is such a crazy concept isn’t it?
      With that said, ugh! I know how you feel! Embarking on the adventure of homeschool seems daunting and beyond difficult! But, it’s possible. You can, and will, do it. I know it seems impossible, but you can. Your other children will fall into your routine and you will all find your way together! I believe in you!
      If you didn’t care, you wouldn’t be searching to connect with others going through the same thing. I know you care and where there’s a will, there’s a way, right?
      I hope you’ve gone through my blog and have enjoyed what you’ve read. If you have, you know that my homeschooling journey became increasingly difficult with my husband’s diagnosis.
      I’m still here for you. I will still support you. I hope you know that. Don’t think I won’t ever respond. I apologize for that.
      Let me know how it’s going. And let me know that you forgive me for not responding immediately.

      Allison

      Like

Leave a Reply

